Vorstand

Global ARCH / Über uns / Vorstand

Exekutivausschuss

Amy Verstappen, Präsidentin

Disty Pearson, Vizepräsidentin

Shelagh Ross, Sekretärin

David La Fontaine, Schatzmeister

Vorstandsmitglieder

Flavia Kamalembo Batureine

Belen Blanton Altuve

Blanca del Valle

Anu Gomanju

Grace Jerald

Tendai Moyo

Lavina Ndemutila Ndinangoye

Ruth Ngwaro

Amaya saez

Bistra Zheleva

Emeritiertes Vorstandsmitglied

Vikas Desai

Teilen Sie diese Seite

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
E-Mail

Amy Verstappen, Präsidentin

Amy Verstappen ist seit 1996 Patientenanwältin und Gesundheitserzieherin, als ihre eigenen Herausforderungen mit einem komplexen Herzfehler sie zur Adult Congenital Heart Association führten, wo sie von 2001 bis 2013 als Präsidentin tätig war Zentren für die Kontrolle von Krankheiten des Nationalen Instituts für Herz, Lunge und Blut; und der Internationalen Gesellschaft für angeborene Herzerkrankungen bei Erwachsenen und arbeitete mit angeborenen Herzpatienten und Berufsgruppen in den USA und der ganzen Welt zusammen. Frau Verstappen erhielt 1990 einen Master in Education und 2019 einen Master in Global Health.  

Disty Pearson, Vizepräsidentin

Disty Pearson ist Mutter eines Patienten mit angeborenen Herzfehlern und arbeitet seit Kurzem im Ruhestand als Arzthelferin für angeborene Herzfehler bei Erwachsenen. Sie hat in den letzten 40 Jahren mit KHK-Patienten gearbeitet, zunächst in der Herzchirurgie und in den letzten 20 Jahren beim Boston Adult Congenital Heart Service (BACH) am Boston Children's Hospital und am Mass General Brigham. Sie ist Gründungsmitglied des ACHA Medical Advisory Board und Mitglied des American College of Cardiology. Disty erkannte schon früh die Bedeutung der Stimme des Patienten und seiner Familie bei allen Entscheidungen, die sich auf die Versorgung von Patienten auswirken, und setzt sich dafür ein, das Leben von Menschen zu verbessern, die weltweit von Herzerkrankungen betroffen sind, die im Kindesalter auftreten.

Shelagh Ross, Sekretärin


Shelagh Ross ist Mitbegründer und ehemaliger Präsident der Canadian Congenital Heart Alliance (CCHA), einer gemeinnützigen Organisation, die Kanadier mit angeborener Herzkrankheit (KHK) unterstützt und unterstützt. Sie ist eine KHK-Patientin mit Fallot-Tetralogie und wurde mehreren Operationen und Eingriffen unterzogen. Sie ist Autorin / Redakteurin für Medizin und Gesundheit und Website-Managerin und seit 2004 eine leidenschaftliche Anwältin in der CHD-Community.

David La Fontaine, Schatzmeister

David La Fontaine absolvierte 1983 das Haverford College in der Nähe von Philadelphia. Er hat in der kommunalen Stadtsanierung gearbeitet und leitet derzeit eine gemeinnützige Organisation, die in Zusammenarbeit mit der örtlichen Nachbarschaftsführung in Philadelphia bezahlbaren Wohnraum und gemischt genutzte Immobilien entwickelt. David engagiert sich auch für die Gleichstellung der Gesundheit und hilft Menschen mit KHK und RHD, Zugang zu der Pflege zu erhalten, die sie für ein gesundes Leben benötigen.

Flavia Kamalembo Batureine

Flavia lebt seit 9 Jahren mit rheumatischer Herzkrankheit (RHD) und ist Mitglied der Unterstützungsgruppe für rheumatische Herzkrankheiten in Uganda unter dem Uganda Heart Institute. Über die Selbsthilfegruppe erreicht sie andere Patienten, Familien oder Einzelpersonen, um soziale Unterstützung, Beratung, Anwaltschaft und Forschung anzubieten. Sie ist auch eine Intensivpflegerin und arbeitet auf einer Herzintensivstation. Sie widmet sich der Sensibilisierung für RHD und KHK, damit Patienten eine angemessene und zeitnahe Versorgung erhalten können, und trägt zu nachweislich fundierten Forschungsarbeiten bei, um die Versorgung von von KHK und RHD betroffenen Bevölkerungsgruppen zu verbessern. Flavia war ein aktiver Teilnehmer am Internationalen Gipfel für angeborene Herzführung in Barcelona im Jahr 2017, der zur Gründung von führte Global ARCH.

Belen Blanton Altuve

Belen Blanton Altuve stammt ursprünglich aus Venezuela und lebt seit über 30 Jahren in den USA. Sie wurde mit Trikuspidalatresie geboren und hatte ihre erste und einzige Herzoperation in den USA. In ihren Dreißigern entwickelte Belen das Eisenmenger-Syndrom und ihr Zustand verschlechterte sich so weit, dass sie für eine Herz-/Lungentransplantation nicht mehr in Frage kam. Sie trat der Adult Congenital Heart Association bei, wo sie mehr über ihren Defekt erfuhr und sich mit anderen KHK-Patienten sowie mit ACHS-Kardiologen und Pflegekräften in Verbindung setzte. Belen und ihr Mann haben die Fundacion Estrellita de Belen gegründet, eine sehr aktive gemeinnützige Organisation, die einkommensschwachen Kindern in Venezuela Herzbehandlungen anbietet. Belen hat hart daran gearbeitet, diesen Kindern die gleiche Kampfchance zu geben, die sie glücklicherweise früh in ihrem Leben hatte.

Blanca del Valle

Blanca del Valle war viele Jahre lang in Führungspositionen im Finanzsektor tätig und beteiligt sich in jüngerer Zeit an Gesundheits-, Kultur- und Bürgerinitiativen. Im Jahr 2008 wechselte sie als Executive Vice President zu Kardias und widmete sich der Verbesserung des Zugangs zu hochwertiger Versorgung für Kinder mit koronarer Herzkrankheit in Mexiko. Seit 2017 hat sie zwei Nothilfefonds im Gesamtwert von mehr als 5 Millionen US-Dollar verwaltet. Derzeit leitet sie Fondo de Inversión Social Kaluz, bestehend aus Core Ciudades Vivibles y Amables, Fundación Kaluz und Museo Kaluz. Sie ist außerdem Gründerin und Schatzmeisterin von „Red de Donantes Ensamble“, einem Netzwerk der wichtigsten Geberinstitutionen in Mexiko. Sie sitzt im Vorstand mehrerer gemeinnütziger und gewinnorientierter Institutionen in Mexiko und im Ausland, wie Grupo Financiero Ve por Más, Fundación BBVA México, sowie im Beirat des Centro Mexicano para la Filantropía und des David Rockefeller Center in Harvard für Lateinamerikastudien.

Grace Jerald

Grace war die erste angeborene Herzpatientin in Malaysia, die sich der Wechseloperation zur Transposition der Großen Arterien unterzog. Mit einem Bachelor of Arts (Hons) von der Universität von Malaya in Malaysia hatte Grace zahlreiche Positionen in den Bereichen Datenbankmanagement, Veranstaltungsplanung sowie die Befähigung und Leitung von Freiwilligenteams inne. Im Laufe des Jahres 2020 war sie ein geschätztes Mitglied der Global ARCH Kommunikationsausschuss. Sie ist auch ein lebenslanges Mitglied von Friends of IJN, einer freiwilligen Selbsthilfegruppe im National Heart Institute Hospital. Derzeit arbeitet sie in Kingdomcity, einer globalen christlichen Bewegung an verschiedenen Orten auf der ganzen Welt. 

Tendai Mayo

Tendai Moyo, geboren und aufgewachsen in Simbabwe, wurde zu einer leidenschaftlichen Fürsprecherin für KHK-Patienten, nachdem sie ihre kleine Tochter durch die Krankheit verloren hatte. Ihre Vision entstand aus Trauer und Verlust. Ohne den Hintergrund oder die Ressourcen, um Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, schloss sie sich an Global ARCH für Unterstützung und Inspiration. Seitdem hat sie Brave Little Heart Zimbabwe gegründet und 2021 offiziell eine Herzstation im Mpilo Central Hospital in Bulawayo eingerichtet. Die neue Einheit wurde eingerichtet, um den Zugang zu Fachdiensten und korrektiver Versorgung für Kinder mit Herzproblemen zu verbessern. Sie hofft, dass die Einheiten in den 10 Provinzen Simbabwes repliziert werden und dass Herzkrankheiten bei Kindern in die nationale Gesundheitsstrategie aufgenommen werden.

Lavinia Ndemutila Ndinangoye

Lavinia ist Krankenschwester, Musikerin und RHD-Botschafterin in Namibia. Im Alter von 9 Jahren wurde bei ihr eine rheumatische Herzerkrankung diagnostiziert, die jedoch viele Jahre lang nicht mehr nachuntersucht werden konnte. Als Person mit gesundheitlichen Problemen entwickelte Lavinia eine große Leidenschaft und den Wunsch, anderen zu helfen und ihnen zu dienen, insbesondere Menschen mit gesundheitlichen Problemen. Als Musikerin nahm Lavinia den RHD-Awareness-Song „GET BACK YOUR CONFIDENCE“ auf, der während einer lokalen RHD-Kampagne veröffentlicht wurde. Sie führt derzeit ein Projekt mit dem Titel "RHD IST KEINE BEHINDERUNG" durch, um ein Bewusstsein für die Prävention von rheumatischem Fieber zu schaffen.

Ruth Ngwaro

Ruth stammt ursprünglich aus Kenia, lebt aber jetzt in den Vereinigten Staaten und ist eine erfahrene, leidenschaftliche und angesehene Anwältin und Fachkraft für die öffentliche Gesundheit. Als Patientin mit angeborener Herzkrankheit (KHK) gründete Ruth die gemeinnützige Organisation Kenya Mended Hearts Patient's Association (KMHPA). Durch ihre beeindruckende Führung setzt sich die Organisation weiterhin erfolgreich für angeborene Herzfehler und Rechte des RHD, für Richtlinienänderungen und die Bewusstseinsbildung in der Gemeinschaft ein.

Amaya Saez

Amaya Sáez aus Madrid, Spanien, ist Geschäftsführerin der Menudos Corazones Foundation, der führenden KHK-Organisation in Spanien. Sie war außerdem Mitbegründerin und erste Vizepräsidentin von CardioAlianza, der ersten Organisation in Spanien für Menschen mit Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen. Als ausgebildete Rechtsanwältin ist sie seit 2021 Mitglied des Vorstands der Pro Bono Spain Foundation, der Organisation, die die wichtigsten Anwaltskanzleien vereint und dafür verantwortlich ist, NGOs den Zugang zu Recht und Gerechtigkeit zu erleichtern. Amayas Schwester hat einen Sohn mit komplexer koronarer Herzkrankheit.

Bistra Zheleva

Bistra ist Vizepräsidentin für globale Strategie und Interessenvertretung bei Children's HeartLink. Sie ist eine internationale Entwicklungsexpertin mit fast 20 Jahren Erfahrung in der Programmumsetzung und setzt sich für einen verbesserten Zugang zur Versorgung von Kindern ein, die pädiatrische Herzdienste benötigen. Sie leitete Kooperationsbemühungen in vielen globalen und kulturellen Umgebungen mit verschiedenen Gruppen von Interessengruppen und verfügt über umfassende Kenntnisse in allen Aspekten des Managements von NRO und der Stärkung der Gesundheitssysteme. Seit 2003 hat sie aufgrund ihrer Erfahrung mit Children's HeartLink viele Länder auf der ganzen Welt besucht und sich leidenschaftlich für die Bedürfnisse von Kindern mit Herzerkrankungen eingesetzt.

Vikas Desai


Dr. Desai ist ein Arzt, der sich seit 45 Jahren auf die öffentliche Gesundheit spezialisiert hat. Derzeit ist sie technische Direktorin des Kompetenzzentrums für städtische Gesundheit und Klimaresilienz in Surat City, Bundesstaat Gujarat, Indien. Sie ist die stellvertretende Vorsitzende des eingetragenen Trusts „Nationales Institut für Frauen- und Kinderentwicklung (NIWCD)“ und hat mit ihren Initiativen NIWCD 2002 das „Child Heart Care Project (CHCP)“ ins Leben gerufen. Sie ist die technische Moderatorin der Aktivitäten von CHCP. Im Jahr 2005 wurde mit CHCP Advocacy-Programm zur kostenlosen Behandlung von KHK von Kindern unter der Armutsgrenze von der Landesregierung initiiert, die nun eine Aktivität ist, die im Rahmen von Rashtriy Balsuraksha Karyakram (Nationales Kinderschutzprogramm) umgewandelt wurde.

Nahimeh Jaffar 

Nahimeh Jaffar hat arbeitete als zertifizierter Projektmanager (PMP) in verschiedenen Bereichen, darunter öffentliche Gesundheit, Biotechnologie und Pharmazie, und arbeitete in klinischen Umgebungen wie Krankenhäusern und Kliniken. Darüber hinaus arbeitete sie mit globalen Gemeinschaften in Afrika, der Karibik und dem Nahen Osten zusammen und unterstützte verschiedene soziale Projekte. MS. Jaffar war in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Center for Disease Control (CDC, USA) und dem Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS, USA) an präventiven Gesundheitsinitiativen beteiligt.

 

 Jaffar hat einen MBA in Business Development vom Swiss Institute of Higher Management, Vevey, Schweiz, und einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Consumer Affairs von der California State University, Northridge, USA.

Board of Directors

Global ARCH / About Us / Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Amy Verstappen, President

Disty Pearson, Vice-President

Shelagh Ross, Secretary

David La Fontaine, Treasurer

Board Members

Flavia Kamalembo Batureine

Belen Blanton Altuve

Blanca del Valle

Anu Gomanju

Grace Jerald

Tendai Moyo

Lavina Ndemutila Ndinangoye

Ruth Ngwaro

Amaya Sáez

Bistra Zheleva

Emeritus Board Member

Dr. Vikas Desai

Share this page

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Email

Amy Verstappen, President

Amy Verstappen has been a patient advocate and health educator since 1996, when her own challenges living with a complex heart defect led her to the Adult Congenital Heart Association, where she served as president from 2001 to 2013. She has served as an advisor to the Centers for Disease Control the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute; and the International Society for Adult Congenital Cardiac Disease, and worked with congenital heart patient and professional groups throughout the USA and the world.  Ms. Verstappen received a Masters in Education in 1990 and a Masters in Global Health in 2019.  

Disty Pearson, Vice-President

Disty Pearson is the parent of a congenital heart disease patient and a physician assistant in adult congenital heart disease (CHD), recently retired. She has worked with CHD patients over the past 40 years, first in cardiac surgery and for the last 20 years with the Boston Adult Congenital Heart Service (BACH) at the Boston Children’s Hospital and the Mass General Brigham.  She is a founding member of the ACHA Medical Advisory Board and is a member of the American College of Cardiology. Disty recognized early on the importance of the patient and family voice in all decisions affecting the care of patients and is dedicated to improving the lives of those affected by childhood onset heart disease throughout the world.

Shelagh Ross, Secretary


Shelagh Ross is the co-founder and past-president of the Canadian Congenital Heart Alliance (CCHA), a non-profit that supports and advocates for Canadians with congenital heart disease (CHD). She is a CHD patient with tetralogy of Fallot, and has undergone several surgeries and interventions. She is a medical and health writer/editor and website manager, and since 2004 has been a passionate advocate in the CHD community.

David La Fontaine, Treasurer

David La Fontaine graduated from Haverford College near Philadelphia in 1983. He has worked in community-based urban redevelopment, and currently heads a non-profit organization that develops affordable housing and mixed-use properties in partnership with local neighborhood leadership in Philadelphia. David is also committed to health equity and helping people with CHD and RHD access the care they need to live healthy lives.

Flavia Kamalembo Batureine

Flavia has lived with rheumatic heart disease (RHD) for 9 years, and is a member of the Rheumatic Heart Disease Support group in Uganda, under the Uganda Heart Institute. Through the support group, she reaches out to other patients, families or individuals to offer social support, counselling, advocacy and research. She is also a critical care nurse, working in a cardiac intensive care unit. She is dedicated to raising awareness about RHD and CHD so that patients can receive appropriate and timely care, as well as contributing to evidenced-based research to improve care of populations affected by CHD and RHD. Flavia was an active participant in the International Congenital Heart Leadership Summit in Barcelona in 2017, which led to the creation of Global ARCH.

Belen Blanton Altuve

Originally from Venezuela, Belen Blanton Altuve has lived in the U.S. for 30+ years. Born with tricuspid atresia, she had her first and only heart surgery in the U.S. In her 30s, Belen developed Eisenmenger syndrome, and her condition deteriorated to the point where she was not eligible for a heart/lung transplant. She joined the Adult Congenital Heart Association where she learned more about her defect, connecting with other CHD patients, as well as ACHD cardiologists and caregivers. Belen and her husband have created Fundacion Estrellita de Belen, a very active non-profit that provides cardiac care to low-income children in Venezuela. Belen has been working hard to help these children have the same fighting chance that she was fortunate to have early in her life.

Blanca del Valle

Blanca del Valle spent many years working in leadership roles in the financial sector, and more recently participates in health, culture, and citizenship initiatives. In 2008, she joined Kardias as its Executive Vice President, dedicating herself to improving access to quality care for children with CHD in Mexico. Since 2017, she has administered two emergency relief funds totaling more than $5 million. She currently heads Fondo de Inversión Social Kaluz comprised of Core Ciudades Vivibles y Amables, Fundación Kaluz, and Museo Kaluz. She is also the founder and treasurer of “Red de Donantes Ensamble”, a network of the most important donor institutions in Mexico. She seats in the board of several non-profit and for-profit institutions in Mexico and abroad, like Grupo Financiero Ve por Más, Fundación BBVA México, as well as the advisory board of Centro Mexicano para la Filantropía and Harvard´s David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies.

Anu Gomanju

Anu Gomanju is a non-communicable diseases (NCD) patient advocate as well as a person living with rheumatic heart disease (RHD) from Nepal. She advocates for cardiovascular health for all and the meaningful engagement of people living with NCDs (PLWNCD). Along with her involvement with the Global ARCH as a board member, she is affiliated with the NCDI Poverty Network as the ‘Steering Committee Youth Advocate’ and ‘Voices for PEN-Plus’. In Nepal, Anu works as a Public Health Officer with a non-profit children’s hospital network called the Kathmandu Institute of Child Health (KIOCH). Academically, she is trained as a global and public health professional. Anu is also involved with global health actors like the WHO, WHF, and alliances of patient and family organizations representing Nepal and Asia. She is the Voices of NCDI Poverty Advocacy Fellow Alumna (2021-2022) of the NCDI Poverty Network, USA. She aspires to empower people living with chronic conditions through health literacy, engagement in policy advocacy, and research to ensure good quality and affordable health care for all.

Grace Jerald

Grace was the first congenital heart patient in Malaysia to undergo the switch operation for Transposition of the Great Arteries. With a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) from the University of Malaya in Malaysia, Grace has held numerous positions in database management, event planning, and empowering and running volunteer teams. Throughout 2020 she has been a valued member of the Global ARCH communications committee. She is also a life member of Friends of IJN, a volunteer support group in the National Heart Institute Hospital. She currently works in Kingdomcity, a global Christian movement in multiple locations around the world. 

Tendai Mayo

Tendai Moyo, born and raised in Zimbabwe, became a fierce advocate for CHD patients after she lost her baby daughter to the disease. Her vision was born out of grief and loss. Without the background or resources to take action, she joined Global ARCH for support and inspiration. Since then, she has founded Brave Little Heart Zimbabwe, and in 2021 officially established a cardiac ward at Mpilo Central Hospital in Bulawayo. The new unit was established to improve access to specialist services and corrective care to children with heart conditions. She hopes for the units to be replicated across the 10 provinces of Zimbabwe, and for childhood heart disease to be included in the National Health strategy.

Lavinia Ndemutila Ndinangoye

Lavinia is a nurse, musician, and an RHD ambassador in Namibia. At the age of 9 she was diagnosed with rheumatic heart disease but for many years was lost to follow up. As a person with health challenges, Lavinia developed a great passion and desire to help and serve others, especially those with health-related issues. As a musician, Lavinia recorded the RHD awareness song “GET BACK YOUR CONFIDENCE”, which was launched during a local RHD campaign. She is currently running a project called ‘RHD IS NOT A DISABILITY’ to create awareness of rheumatic fever prevention.

Ruth Ngwaro

Originally from Kenya but now living in the United States, Ruth is an experienced, passionate, and well-respected public health advocate and professional. As a congenital heart disease (CHD) patient, Ruth founded the non-profit organization Kenya Mended Hearts Patient’s Association (KMHPA). Through her impressive leadership, the organization continues to successfully advocate for congenital heart disease and RHD rights, policy changes, and creating awareness in the community.

Amaya Sáez

Amaya Sáez, from Madrid, Spain, is the General Manager of Menudos Corazones Foundation, the leading CHD organization in Spain. She was also a co-founder and inaugural Vice-President of CardioAlianza, the first organization in Spain for people with cardiovascular diseases. Trained as a lawyer, she has been a part of the executive committee of the Pro Bono Spain Foundation since 2021, the entity that brings together the main law firms and is responsible for facilitating access to Law and Justice for NGOs. Amaya’s sister has a son with complex CHD.

Bistra Zheleva

Bistra is the Vice President of Global Strategy and Advocacy at Children’s HeartLink. She is an International development expert with close to 20 years of experience in program implementation and advocacy for improved access to care for children in need of pediatric cardiac services. She’s led collaborative efforts in many global and cultural settings with diverse groups of stakeholders and has depth of knowledge in all aspects of NGO management and health systems strengthening. Since 2003, her experience with Children’s HeartLink has taken her to many countries around the world making her a passionate advocate for the needs of children with heart disease.

Dr. Vikas Desai


Dr. Desai is a medical doctor who has been specializing in public health for 45 years. She is currently the Technical Director, Urban Health and Climate Resilience Center of Excellence in Surat City, Gujarat State, India. She is the Vice chairperson of the registered trust “national Institute For Woman and Child Development (NIWCD) ” and with her initiatives NIWCD launched “Child Heart Care Project (CHCP) ” in 2002. She is the technical facilitator of the activities of CHCP. In 2005 with CHCP advocacy program of free treatment of CHD of children from below poverty line was initiated by state Government which is now an activity transformed under Rashtriy Balsuraksha Karyakram (National Child Protection Program).

Nahimeh Jaffar 

Nahimeh Jaffar has worked as a certified Project Manager (PMP) in various fields, including Public Health, Biotech, and Pharmaceuticals, working within clinical settings such as hospitals and clinics. In addition, she worked with global communities in Africa, the Caribbean, and the Middle East, supporting various social impact projects. Ms. Jaffar has been involved in preventive health initiatives in collaboration with the Center for Disease Control (CDC, USA) and the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS, USA).

 

Ms. Jaffar holds an MBA in Business Development from the Swiss Institute of Higher Management, Vevey, Switzerland, and a bachelor’s degree in Consumer Affairs from California State University, Northridge, USA.